Fighting plastic pollution in the Mediterranean

Fight against plastic pollution in the Mediterranean Sea by rewarding actors on the ground for effective and sustainable solutions.

Theme(s)
Duration2018 - renewable annually
LocationsCountries around the Mediterranean
ActionRewarding concrete actions against plastic pollution in the Mediterranean.
Partners
  • Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation
  • Beyond Plastic Med
Background

Every year, more than 8 million tonnes of plastic are dumped in the sea. Once released into nature, plastic affects the water quality and the marine fauna and flora, among other things, and can take up to 500 years to decompose. Plastic pollution in our oceans, generated by unsustainable consumption patterns, is one of the major ecological challenges that we must address for our own future and the future of biodiversity.

Response Strategy

In view of the impact that plastic pollution has on ecosystems and on human and animal welfare, the Didier and Martine Primat Foundation is supporting the Beyond Plastic Med (BeMed) call for micro-initiatives, with the aim of raising awareness and mobilising civil society into concrete actions against plastic pollution in the Mediterranean. Established by the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, BeMed’s role is to mobilise a network of field activists and to support local projects and solutions that have strong potential for large-scale replication.

Action

The call for projects awards grants of €10,000 every year to approximately fifteen micro-initiatives based in countries around the Mediterranean. In addition to this support, grant recipients are connected to each other and introduced to industry experts, and get a media exposure during the Monaco Ocean Week.

Expected results
  • Implementation of effective, sustainable solutions to prevent plastic waste.
  • Development of alternative materials to plastics.
  • Dissemination of good practice in plastic waste management and introduction of alternative products.
  • Improved knowledge on the extent and consequences of plastic pollution in the Mediterranean Sea.
  • Change in society’s behaviour regarding the excessive use of plastics.
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© s.agnelli
© Cédric Fruneau
© Cédric Fruneau
Partners
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

The Beyond Plastic Med initiative was launched on 10 March 2015 at an international conference in Monaco. It is managed by a collective, comprising the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, the Mava Foundation, the Tara Expeditions Foundation, Surfrider Foundation Europe and the IUCN. Its mission is to support and develop a network of Mediterranean stakeholders committed to curbing plastic pollution, to implement effective and sustainable solutions and support the research of novel alternatives, and to engage stakeholders and the public by raising awareness and disseminating best practices.

Explore
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

In June 2006, HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco decided to establish his Foundation to address our planet's alarming environmental situation. The Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation is dedicated to the protection of the environment and the promotion of sustainable development on a global scale. The Foundation supports initiatives of public and private organizations, in the fields of research and studies, technological innovation and socially-aware practices. The Foundation supports projects in three main geographical zones and focuses its efforts focus on three main areas. 

Explore

Combattre la pollution plastique en méditerranée

Lutter contre la pollution plastique en mer Méditerranée en récompensant des acteurs de terrain porteurs de solutions efficaces et durables.

Thématique(s)
Durée2018 - reconductible annuellement
GéographiePays du pourtour méditerranéen
ActionRécompenser des actions concrètes contre la pollution plastique en Méditerranée.
Partenaires
  • Beyond Plastic Med
  • Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco
Contexte

Chaque année, plus de 8 millions de tonnes de plastique sont déversées en mer. Une fois rejeté dans le milieu naturel, le plastique affecte, entre autres, la qualité des eaux, la faune et la flore marines et peut mettre jusqu’à 500 ans pour disparaître. Générée par nos modes de consommation non soutenables, la pollution plastique au sein des océans est l’un des défis écologiques majeur à relever pour notre futur et celui de la biodiversité.

Stratégie d’Intervention

Considérant l’impact de la pollution plastique sur les écosystèmes et sur la santé des hommes et des animaux, la Fondation Didier et Martine Primat a décidé de soutenir l’appel à micro-initiatives « Beyond Plastic Med » (BeMed) dont l’objectif est de sensibiliser et de mobiliser la société civile autour d’actions concrètes contre la pollution plastique en Méditerranée. Initié par la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco, le rôle de BeMed est de stimuler un réseau d’acteurs de terrain et de soutenir des projets locaux et des solutions présentant un fort potentiel de réplication à grande échelle.

Action

L’appel à projet récompense chaque année une quinzaine de micro-initiatives autour du pourtour méditerranéen par des dotations d’un montant de 10.000 euros. Ce soutien s’accompagne d’une mise en réseau des lauréats entre eux et avec des experts du secteur, ainsi qu’une couverture médiatique lors de la Monaco Ocean Week.

Résultats Attendus
  • Mise en oeuvre des solutions efficaces et durables pour la prévention des déchets plastiques.
  • Développement des matériaux alternatifs aux matières plastiques.
  • Dissémination des bonnes pratiques sur la gestion des déchets plastiques et la mise en place de produits alternatifs.
  • Amélioration des connaissances sur l’ampleur et les conséquences de la pollution plastique en mer Méditerranée.
  • Changement des comportements sociétaux vis-à-vis de l’utilisation non raisonnée des plastiques.
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© s.agnelli
© Cédric Fruneau
© Cédric Fruneau
Partenaires
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

L’initiative Beyond Plastic Med a été lancée le 10 mars 2015, lors d’une conférence internationale à Monaco. Organisée par un collectif composé de la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco, la Fondation Mava, la Fondation Tara Expéditions, Surfrider Foundation Europe et l’IUCN, elle a vise à réunir les principaux acteurs de la filière plastique (organisations non gouvernementales, industriels, représentants des collectivités territoriales, scientifiques, société civile) pour s’engager sur des actions concrètes en faveur de notre environnement et contre la prolifération des déchets plastiques en Méditerranée.

Découvrir
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco : En juin 2006, S.A.S. le Prince Albert II de Monaco décide de créer Sa Fondation afin de répondre aux menaces préoccupantes qui pèsent sur l’environnement de notre planète. La Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco œuvre pour la protection de l’environnement et la promotion du développement durable à l’échelle mondiale. La Fondation soutient les initiatives d’organisations publiques et privées dans le domaine de l’environnement.

Découvrir