Butterflies and dragonflies – indicators of the state of biodiversity

Participating in national butterfly and dragonfly inventories in France to measure the evolution of biodiversity.

Theme(s)
Duration3 years (2017 - 2019)
LocationsFrance
ActionConducting a national inventory of butterflies and dragonflies.
Partners
  • Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle
Background

The Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle [National Museum of Natural History] is coordinating nationwide inventories of butterflies and dragonflies in France to monitor the evolution of these insect populations, which are key indicators of the state of biodiversity. The observation data for each species is entered in the National Inventory of Natural Heritage (INPN). Within this context, the conservation of old data, from collections in particular, is also a priority as it provides important and verifiable information on the former distribution of species, which can be compared with the current situation and enable construction of a model for future evolution.

Response Strategy

Concerned about the loss of biodiversity throughout Europe, the Didier and Martine Primat Foundation has decided to support the computerisation of data and the specimens from the Jean Schlumberger butterfly collection which was bequeathed to the Museum. The collection also includes 17 manuscript notebooks containing a wealth of information on the situation of lepidoptera populations in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. By converting the manuscripts to digital format and computerising the collection, this important scientific data base will be in a durable, modern format that is easier to access and to use.

Regarding the inventory of dragonflies in metropolitan France, the provision of further funding will enable to broaden its scope by selecting and including twenty new significant sites for study, one of which is the Domaine des Etangs; an estate in the Massignac district of Charente Limousin which belongs to the Primat family.

Action

Butterflies

The computerisation of the data from the Jean Schlumberger collection will be done in three stages:

  1. Electronic conversion of the data on butterflies contained in the notebooks previously scanned by the library.
  2. A thorough verification of the collection will be undertaken to cross-check the data.
  3. Transfer of the inventoried items into the collections database, and integration with the National Inventory of Natural Heritage (INPN).

Dragonflies

At the same time, the National Museum of Natural History will join forces with the Agency for Insects and their Environment (OPIE) and the French Odonatology Society (SFO) to collect data from additional sites (including the Domaine des Etangs), as part of the national dragonfly inventory.

All data obtained will be considered as public information.

Expected results
  • Digitisation of Jean Schlumberger’s 17 manuscript notebooks which will be made available to the public on the Museum website and the Biodiversity Heritage Library
  • Computerisation of 20,000 butterfly specimens and data, which will be made available on the National Inventory of Natural Heritage (INPN) website.
  • Publication of an Atlas of Metropolitan Dragonflies in France, scheduled for late 2020.
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© J. Laignel
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© L. Rouschmeyer
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© P. Flammant
Partners
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

Founded in 1635, the Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle is dedicated to nature and its relationship with humans, through basic and applied research, conservation and enhancement of collections, teaching, expertise and dissemination of knowledge. The Museum is historically based in the Jardin des Plantes in Paris, but also has 12 other sites in France, all with one clear objective: to make knowledge on natural history accessible to all and to raise awareness as widely as possible to the importance of protecting the planet.

Explore

Papillons et libellules, témoins de l’état de la biodiversité

Participer aux inventaires nationaux des papillons et libellules en France pour mesurer l’évolution de la biodiversité.

Thématique(s)
Durée3 ans (2017 - 2019)
GéographieFrance
ActionProcéder à un inventaire national des papillons et des libellules indicateurs de l’état de la biodiversité.
Partenaires
  • Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle
Contexte

Le Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle coordonne en France les inventaires nationaux des papillons et les libellules afin de suivre l’évolution de ces populations d’insectes qui sont des marqueurs essentiels de l’état de la biodiversité. Les données d’observation des espèces sont intégrées dans l’Inventaire National du Patrimoine Naturel (INPN). Dans ce cadre, la conservation des données anciennes, notamment issues de collections, constitue aussi une priorité car elle permet d’obtenir des informations importantes et vérifiables sur la répartition passée des espèces, de les comparer avec la situation présente et de modéliser l’évolution future.

Stratégie d’intervention

La Fondation Didier et Martine Primat, soucieuse de la perte de biodiversité constatée partout en Europe, a décidé de soutenir l’informatisation des données et des spécimens de la collection de papillons de Jean Schlumberger, précédemment léguée au Muséum. Cette collection accompagnée de 17 carnets manuscrits renferme de nombreuses informations sur la situation des populations de lépidoptères de la fin du 19ème et début du 20ème siècle. La numérisation des manuscrits et l’informatisation de la collection permettra de pérenniser et moderniser l’exploitation de cette base donnée qui revêt une importance scientifique particulière.

Concernant l’inventaire des libellules de France métropolitaine, un financement complémentaire permettra d’augmenter sa complétude en sélectionnant une vingtaine de nouveaux sites à étudier, dont le Domaine des Etangs, propriété de la famille Primat située sur la commune de Massignac en Charente limousine.

Action

Papillons

Le projet d’informatisation des données de la collection Jean Schlumberger se déroule en trois phases :

  1. Une informatisation des données contenues sur les papillons dans les carnets à partir du document numérisé par la bibliothèque.
  2. Un récolement de la collection pour vérification des données et mises en concordance.
  3. Un transfert des éléments répertoriés vers la base de données des collections et intégration dans l’Inventaire National du Patrimoine Naturel (INPN).

Libellules

En parallèle, le Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle s’associe à l’Office pour les Insectes et leur environnement (OPIE) et la Société Française d’Odonatologie (SFO) afin de récolter des données issues de sites supplémentaires (dont celui du Domaine des Etangs), dans le cadre de l’inventaire national des libellules. Toutes les données ainsi obtenues seront considérées comme publiques.

Résultats attendus
  • Numérisation des 17 carnets manuscrits de Jean Schlumberger et mise à disposition du public via le site du Muséum et le site de la « Biodiversity Heritage Library ».
  • Informatisation des données et des spécimens des 20 000 papillons et mise à disposition sur le site de l’Inventaire National du Patrimoine Naturel (INPN).
  • Publication d’un Atlas des libellules de France métropolitaines, programmé pour fin 2020.
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© J. Laignel
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© L. Rouschmeyer
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable
© P. Flammant
Partenaires
Fondation Didier et Martine Primat - Vivre ensemble de manière responsable et durable

Créé en 1635, le Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle se consacre à la nature et à ses relations avec l’espèce humaine, à travers de la recherche fondamentale et appliquée, la conservation et l’enrichissement des collections, l’enseignement, l’expertise et la diffusion des connaissances. Bien que son cœur historique soit situé à Paris, au Jardin des Plantes, le Muséum est également présent sur 12 sites dans toute la France, avec un objectif clair : rendre les connaissances sur la nature accessibles à tous et sensibiliser le plus grand nombre à la protection de notre planète.

Découvrir